pgt: Well, Mr. Negativity, if you feel that way why'd you even bring it up?
Perhaps you can try paying Fencer to do it for you? I have thought of doing this just to get some changes and also add the game Jump Checkers, but my heart is not into it. I'll just play here until it ceases to exist, or I find something better to do with my time. Hopefully I'll be able to escape the confines of my house if COVID ever stops being such a large part of my daily routine.
Walter Montego: I am aware of the possibility, but I am pretty sure that if you do not offer a double on the first move after you are blocked, then you will not offer a double on any subsequent move while you remain blocked. This logic is not too difficult for a competent computer programmer, and we can all attest to the fact that a competent programmer has implemented BrainKing. When you pass on the first move that you are blocked, it would be quite possible to ask "Are you sure? If so, autopass will continue until you are unblocked" or something to that effect, But I'm not here to design the algorithm, just saying that the existing implementation is unnecessarily frustrating and annoying, and with relatively little effort could be improved dramatically. (SIGH!)
pgt: Though there's other things I can find fault with in the implementation of the autopass, I have heard a justification for this. It is rare, but someone might want to offer a double from that position. I have had people do this against me. Apparently, when it has happened to me, the person didn't offer the double earlier as they were going for a gammon and I messed that up by hitting them. And there's other situations for it too, such as they forgot to double earlier. :)
Maybe you would never offer a double with a piece on the bar, but some people do it.
moistfinger: Your idea is correct. I HAVE doubled from the bar before, not often, but not never either. It is a good play in some situations. I wouldn't want this option to be taken away...
Note that if you CANNOT double (because the opponent has the cube, or it's post-crawford), it DOES Autopass. So it is not an be-lazy-and-save-some-code-problem, in the contrary, it is doing it even more detailed and correct.
pgt: It has been programmed that way in case the losing player would want to use the cube to double, even though they are stuck on the bar... I guess it could possibly happen but only extremely rarely, as in nearly never. A bit of a programming cop-out, I guess.
The AUTOPASS feature for Backgammon is NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE! The implementation on this site is RIDICULOUS! After passing the first time of being unable to move, then it should be assumed that passing will continue until the player can actually move, Maybe the programmers are not up to making such a simple change.
Walter Montego: I just looked at the game that was listed - I do not see them either. this is worse than I thought; I agree it is unplayable. I have never seen that in any of my games, which is strange - I played hundreds f Plakotos, with the same size setting. Could it be the *color* choice?
rod03801: my guess is that a specific image is missing. If you look at the board where there is a blank, right click it, and it will give you the name of the (missing) image. This would make it a twenty-second fix for Fencer.
Walter Montego: You're welcome. I just remembered that I thought something similar had been brought up before. Used "Search in posts" and searched for Plakato here. It didn't turn up exactly what I thought. So I tried on the Brainking.com discussion board, too, as that seemed like another place it might have been. Sure enough, it was. My memory really wasn't THAT impressive.
rod03801: Switching the Backgammon settings to the small board setting did make the Plakoto board show the pieces. I do not like the small board. I will finish this match, and then never play this game again unless this bug is fixed.
You found this message from 2012, rod03801? A long memory you have. Thank you.
I was talked into playing a match of Plakoto. I cannot see the points on the table that have two pieces on them of both colors. My opponent (Vinkel) says the table looks good from his side. I was going to resign, but he suggested to ask Fencer. So I am posting here as I do not know where bug reports go.
I also had this problem when I was trying to review older games Vinkel had played so I could get an idea of how the game is played.
I just lost a game and match to five doubles in a row today. Backgammon (Walter Montego vs. DavieBoy) It happens. I have played my opponent over 1300 matches. This match hurt since he had won eight in a row prior, and I thought I had the game for the match when it was 75 to 45. Sure it's bad luck, as is your case, but that doesn't mean something fishy has gone on to make it happen. Supposing the roles were reversed. Would you understand how lucky you had gotten?
The game was the final game to determine the winner of the of the match. I’m peeling my pieces off and only have 7 left (30 pip count), he’s still in my home, he proceeds to roll doubles 5 times in a row including three sets of double 6’s to win the game and match. The only way he could have won was to roll 5 sets of doubles, and he does.
Like I said, very talented roller. I see why he’s number 1.
Backgammon (walangpera vs. pgt) I have borne off almost all my pieces (except 2) in this game, and have suddenly been given an eatra dozen or so pieces on the 1 bar. But if you look at the game, I have borne off 14 pieces. What's going on?
Anjil: After hitting him with the 3 (which I understand you'd love to do), you would not be able to play the 5 anymore. The official backgammon rule says "you have to play both dice if possible, and if you can play only either one, you have to play the higher one" - in this case, the 5.
The rules on this site also list this, towards the very end: "If it is possible, both dice must be used. It means that some pieces can become "frozen" in certain positions because making a move with these pieces would create a situation where the second dice couldn't be used. If only one die can be used, the one with the higher number must be chosen.'