User Name: Password:
New User Registration
Moderator: WhisperzQ , Mort , Bwild 
 Chess variants (8x8)

including Amazon, Anti, Atomic, Berolina, Corner, Crazy Screen, Cylinder, Dark, Extinction, Fischer Random, Fortress, Horde, Knight Relay, Legan, Loop, Maharajah, Screen, Three Checks

For posting:
- invitations to games (you can also use the New Game menu)
- information about upcoming tournaments
- discussion of games (please limit this to completed games or discussion on how a game has arrived at a certain position ... speculation on who has an advantage or the benefits of potential moves is not permitted)
- links to interesting related sites (non-promotional)

Community Announcements:
- Nasmichael is helping to co-ordinate the Fischer Random Chess Email Chess (FRCEC) Club and can set up quad or trio games if you send him a PM here.

Messages per page:
List of discussion boards
You are not allowed to post messages to this board. Minimum level of membership required for posting on this board is Brain Pawn.
Mode: Everyone can post
Search in posts:  

2. August 2007, 00:14:28
Subject: d'oh ... Re: Draw offers in Behemoth chess
mangue /

I gotta hang my head in shame ...
Honestly, I never figured you could offer a draw out of turn.
Thanks for clearing that up ;)

30. July 2007, 21:01:51
Subject: Draw offers in Behemoth chess
Modified by dresali (30. July 2007, 21:03:04)
I'd say there's a minor fluke in the way offering a draw works in Behemoth chess, cause when you offer a draw, your opponent gets to accept it in a different situation (with more information) which kinda makes offering a draw quite a bad idea, even in equal positions. (I'd say in about every other game, your opponent has to accept or decline the offer in the same situation as it has been issued.)

Say there are only the kings left, and the Behemoth is not attacking any king, its quite an even position, but offering a draw gives a lot of advantage to your opponent, since he gets to see where the B. goes before deciding, and will decline if the B. attacks only your king and accept if it attacks only his king.
So with reasonable players, the draw feature is quite meaningless in such situations, even if both would prefer a draw.
Maybe it would be a consideration to relay draw offers in Behemoth chess before the Behemoth move is executed,
on the other hand this is probably just a minor incoherence not worth the bother, but it was annoying me once or twice when i would have liked to have a draw, but offering one would have been unwise.

4. February 2007, 00:47:02
Subject: Horde Chess/double step
Just making sure, in Horde Chess, can pawns that
advanced from the first rank to the second rank make
a double step from the second rank if possible?
Thanks for the help.

24. January 2007, 23:40:45
Subject: Re: Cheversi imbalance
Things are not determined by a dice roll, but by luck. Consider a game of rock paper scissors,
nothing is hidden there either, a single game of
it is still completely luck dependant.

And A,B and C are 'good', since if Black decides to
play A',B' or C', White will win 66% of the time,
so it would be irrational for Black to not choose X, so with everyone playing rationally, the game would end in a draw.

Concerning the swap rule, I see that its probably not as perfect as I first thought, since White can play really bad which leaves Black no 'bad enough' moves, so restrictions would still be necessary.
And all that bad play really isnt so nice at all, thats true ;)
Which still leaves this great game at a way too imbalanced state.

24. January 2007, 23:03:28
Subject: Re: Cheversi imbalance
Ok, agreed, if White plays Qa1 in his first move, there probably wont be any drawish positions anymore
after Blacks first move, no matter what he plays,
so the restriction for White's first move might still be necessary.

24. January 2007, 22:47:15
Subject: Re: Cheversi imbalance
Just moving this Cheversi discussion from the Requests Board to here, so if you would like
to read the preceding posts, thats where they are ;)

AbigailII/Perfect information:
Say White has three equally good moves A, B, and C and Black has the Moves X, A',B' and C'.
X garanties a draw, A', B' and C' win against A, B and C respectively, but lose against the other two.
So Black should play X, but he might choose to play a mediocre move and get lucky and win.
In case of simultaneous placing of pieces, a player cant know the outcome of a game anymore
by solely doing enough calculation, so luck comes into play, hence there's no perfect information anymore.

AbigailII/Swap rule:
Of course in your example a swap rule wouldnt help.
That's because in that game there are no positions that are drawish.
But thats not the case in Cheversi.
If after any of White's possible first moves, Black is able to construct
a drawish position with his first move, then adding the swap rule after move 1
would cure the imbalance problem.

Date and time
Friends online
Favourite boards
Tip of the day
Copyright © 2002 - 2023 Filip Rachunek, all rights reserved.
Back to the top