Board for everybody who is interested in BrainKing itself, its structure, features and future.
If you experience connection or speed problems with BrainKing, please visit Host Tracker and check "BrainKing.com" accessibility from various sites around the world. It may answer the question whether an issue is caused by BrainKing itself or your local network (or ISP provider).
Carpe Diem: Here you can not block you starting quarter but at another game site you can not block opponents 3rd quarter. Not sure which is the right way. If all are piled up on one point then you have to move one
Carpe Diem: FYO, either way, the rule is not coded; it is not enforced by BK in any way. I had many games where I discussed it with my opponents, and many of them agree to follow the rule 'voluntarily' (as I do). The ones that ignore the rule and my request, I don't do it either anymore.
I would interpret the rule in the way you do - if you cannot move anywhere with any dice role, your opponent must open up something somewhere. But maybe we should find someone who seriously plays Fevga outside of BK, for example in Turkey or Cyprus, where it is very common, and find out what the real-world official rules are. _If there are_ any official rules.
Carpe Diem: i thought this rule was encforced by brainking?
i think the important point is : "all his checkers onto the one point behind player's prime" so it's not about you being blocked, but all your checkers have to be on the 1 single point directly behind the block ... all stacked into 1 big pile
i even think that the rule doesnt apply when you have 1 piece beyond the block, and all your other pieces directly behind the block
Muokannut Carpe Diem (12. Maaliskuu 2018, 11:38:17)
I can't seem to find a board where rule discussions belong. If there is one, please LMK and I'll post there instead, or an administrator/moderator should feel free to move my post.
I have a question about Fevga - the "hidden rule", as I call it, as it's not software-enforced and thus causes confusion. Here it is, taken from Brainking's rules:
It is allowed to build a prime (six consecutive blocked points) anywhere else (not in the player's starting quarter), but if opponent has collected all his checkers onto the one point behind player's prime, the player must unblock a point in his prime to allow the opponent a chance to move.
How I've always interpreted this rule is that once you are completely blocked - IE none of your pieces can move because primes are built in front of all of your pieces, and they are all immediately behind said primes, your opponent must move a piece. I've never had a problem with this before, but my current opponent has a slightly different interpretation, and when the rule is read literally, I can understand their viewpoint. They are suggesting that all of my pieces must be on the same point, since the rule says: "if opponent has collected all his checkers onto the one point behind player's prime". Now, that seems to me like a strange rule, as it would be extremely rare to be blocked in only one place, but that is what it says. So, who's right? Here's the game in question:
If that link doesn't work, you should be able to find it in my Started Games, me vs. ekko. You'll notice that I have a single piece stuck behind my opponent's prime (11 rolls in a row with no 6 - argh!), and then my other 14 pieces on one point that is behind what is effectively a two-point prime. I believe the intent of the rule would be that this fits the criteria, but I can see that the rule isn't worded in quite that way.
Carnie: Your profile says your membership ends in February, and there's nothing after that. Seems to me that the transaction didn't go through, or there was some other error. But if someone else buys a membership for you, doesn't Fencer have to do it manually?
Carnie: If you upgrade, you change immediately and the previous subscription is suitable. Example : you are knight for 2 months and you buy a membership for a rook for 6 months. You’ll get 7 months rook : 2 months as knight are changed into 1 month rook. I’m sure about my answer. It happened to one of my friend.
Bernice: i thought about that too, but it doesn’t make much sense. Imagine you a Bishop membership, and after a week you decide you want a Rook. Now you have to wait the whole year to have Rook privileges? I doubt that’s how it works.
Thanks! Actually I was a little nervous after the guys from Web4U serverhousing company told me "hey, we must disassemble your server, put the components to a protection wrapper, move them to a new data centre, assemble everything and hope that it will start up". But I guess it was just a one-off operation and won't happen again. And you can follow me if you want to: https://open.spotify.com/artist/7xtwaIP9g8objfjAIF2Esq