You'd only need 4 pieces to seal off the corners - one in each corner. They also can't be captured once in a corner, so the only way white would have a chance would be to limit black to those four pieces and force one of them to move.
I think i remember reading that there are only a few games where Fencer has disabled the flipping of the board. Line4 and variants, and Pente and variants (i think that's all, but there could be more).
Ok, but if white didn't move it's king e5-e6, black would have captured it next move. Then, when black captured the last white piece except the king, white had no legal moves. The rules do not mention stalemate (which this seems to be, as mentioned before), and i have not really played enough of this to know what should happen in this situation.
"...The second possibility is that mercenaries surround the king from three sides and the throne stands on the fourth side (since nobody, including the king, cannot move to the throne). The black player wins the game."
So the game should have ended, and the white player should not have had to resign, correct?