Sorry, ughaibu, I dont know the game shogi. I'll have to look that one up.
As far as I know, and can see, there is no way for black to force a draw. But I still dont see that white has the advantage because of this! Or maybe its just that I like the challenge of black! But to my thinking, in any game, if I play white and my king escapes then that is lucky. It is a mistake made by black.
The only rule I'm not keen on is one I have stated before. When white is surrounded at the throne on three sides (with the throne being on the fourth), if white has an escape OVER the throne it should be allowed!